Look Up Another Term

Definition: FIPS 140-2

FIPS standards for cryptographic security. FIPS 140-2 provides four security levels, each adding functions to the previous level. See FIPS.

Level 1 - Basic encryption such as a PC encryption board.

Level 2 - Provides evidence of elementary tampering.

Level 3 - Prevents access to critical security parameters (CSPs) such as passwords.

Level 4 - Provides evidence of all attempts at tampering.